RSS Feed

Five Years in DC

Posted on

Today is my five year anniversary of living in DC. Sometimes it feels like I’ve lived here forever, it is hard to imagine a life before. It feels like that girl that lived in San Francisco was someone different, not me. But it was me! I’ve had an amazing five years here. I have met some of my favorite people in the world, watched some of them get married, watched a few move away and start their new journeys. I’ve traveled to many different places, and have eaten really well along the way. I went to, and graduated from graduate school. I lived in London and traveled abroad. I interned at one of my favorite museums in the world, and shockingly achieved my goal of working for the Smithsonian. It took a lot to get where I am today, but I am so happy for the journey I’ve taken. And most importantly, I married my best friend. Five years ago today I was unloading my Penske truck I had just driven across country with my mom, into Anthony’s basement for storage while I lived with my sister and looked for a job. We were at the beginning of our relationship, we had been talking and visiting but this was going to be the first time we lived in the same city. Now we live together with our crazy cat, married, happy and both working on our own dreams but coming together at the end of the day to be a family. DC, you’ve been good to me.

Anthony and Whitney 2009This is me and Anthony at the White House Garden Tour one of my first weekends in DC

 

Leave a Reply

