RSS Feed

A Snowy Valentine’s Weekend

Posted on

I have just come off a five day weekend. Between the snow days and President’s Day, I feel fully refreshed and ready to plow through the rest of February.

Thursday, I spent the morning at home relaxing, watching Olympic hockey, and making home made triple chocolate ice cream. I forced myself (and Anthony) outside to meet up with friends at Queen Vic for a few hours to catch up on life and get a good walk in the snowy deserted streets.

Valentine’s Day, Anthony ventured out in the morning on a secret quest and arrived home with flowers and heart shaped Dunkin’ Donuts for breakfast. For lunch, another surprise of our favorite pizza for more Olympic watching. For dinner, we walked to Medium Rare. It was actually lovely out by evening, almost even warm. The restaurant was delicious as always, including the special dessert of the day…red velvet cake. While it was crowded, and people think Valentine’s Day is overrated, it was nice to get out and share the love of the day. Everyone was in good spirits, enjoying libations and there was a feeling of love in the air. Last year I was in London and the two before that we celebrated at home, so this Valentines (our one of being an engaged couple), being out and about at a favorite restaurant was perfect.

Saturday’s soccer game was canceled, sadly, and Charlie Brown wasn’t feeling too well so he went to the vet and had to stay overnight. He is back home and better now. I went to the circuit gym, and shopping at Anthropologie with Courtney. I found my dress for Jackie and Dave’s wedding. T-minus two months and two weeks! I spent the evening babysitting, which included some Lego building, trains, and lots of fun books.

Sunday evening we had friends over for an Olympic watch party. We participated fully by eating McDonald’s and drinking Coke. Their Olympic ads are just too good to deny.

Monday – President’s Day and Day 5 of the holiday! Our most productive day. Anthony and I met with our florist, and I am happy to check it off the list. I’ve basically given him free reign to make it beautiful, and I know he will. We went to Best Buy where I got a Fitbit. Right now I’m really into it. We were near the jeweler where Anthony purchased my engagement ring so we stopped in to view wedding bands. They cleaned my ring and now it is super sparkly. It was a lot of fun trying on bands, and seeing my ring finger transformed. It was even more fun watching Anthony try on different styles! We ended up picking our rings and checking another item off the to-do list! One that wasn’t even planned.  We also received our Save the Dates and started addressing them, which is difficult when your handwriting looks like a seven year old. I’m so glad I have a calligrapher booked for the invites, that would be way too much stress.

Hope you had a wonderful weekend as well!

Valentine's Treats

Valentine’s Treats

Leave a Reply

