RSS Feed

Restaurant Week

Posted on

This past week I went to two different restaurants for Restaurant Week.

Tuesday, Anthony and I went out to Mintwood Place. Since this restaurant has opened it has been on the top of my list. They continually win awards including Best New Restaurant and Food and Wine’s Best Chef of the Mid Atlantic, and nods from James Beard for both these categories. It was delicious. Anthony and I both had hearty salads for the starter – mine was a kale salad with burrata. Our mains came out piping hot, I had the dorade fillet and Anthony had the bolognese pasta…of course. And for dessert, I had the chocolate cake with bourbon vanilla ice cream and Anthony had one of the best looking brownie sundaes I’ve ever seen topped with two inches of whipped cream! Our wine was great, the staff was wonderful, the space was perfect. Overall it was an A+ Restaurant Week experience.

Thursday, I went to Cafe Milano with a few girls from school for lunch. I think lunch for Restaurant Week is really where you get your moneys worth. For $22 I had a cucumber and avocado chilled soup, a huge plate of penne pesto pasta, and a peach semifreddo for dessert – plus they were very generous with the fresh bread. It was hard to go back to class after that! The best part was spending more time with my classmates, and sitting outside on a perfect day.

That night, Anthony and I were suppose to go to The Pig, but I could not imagine doing another three courses in one day. We opted out for a date night in and mini celebration of my upcoming graduation! Sometimes, that is better than any restaurant could be (but seriously, after checking out that menu The Pig is next on our restaurant to do list!)

Anthony at Mintwood Place

Anthony at Mintwood Place

Peach Semifreddo at Cafe Milano

Peach Semifreddo at Cafe Milano

Leave a Reply

