RSS Feed

Half Way Through June

Posted on

I can’t believe how fast time is flying. It’s already over half way through June, I’ve been home for a month, and engaged for even longer! I just today am starting to feel a little under control. I’m almost through my Feedly (RIP Google Reader), I have cut my Pinterest emails down to under 200 (yes I like to look at everyones boards who pin me), picked up my room, and I finished laundry! And with a little time left over to blog.

The past few days have been pretty okay.

Last Thursday I went to the book launch party for Revenge Wears Prada, the sequel to Devil Wears Prada with Liz and Erin. We met up at Old Ebbitt Grill for some summertime drinks before making our way to the POV roof top terrace in the W Hotel for the party. It was pretty swanky. We had glasses of champagne and delicious mini Georgetown Cupcakes. It was clearly the place to see and be seen in the ‘fashion world’ of DC. I didn’t get the memo as I was dressed to avoid the tornado that ripped through town! It was a fun night with friends nonetheless!

Friday night I went to Hoyer’s annual Bull Roast. It is always on or near his birthday out at the Newton White Mansion in Maryland. The mansion was on the list for possible wedding venues, but there was no going back after London Town! I ate delicious BBQ, chatted with Courts coworkers and taught Rhett the Cupid Shuffle! Quite a successful evening.

Saturday was day one of the soccer championship weekend. We won our semi-final game 2-0. Afterwards, the bridesmaids and I for Julia’s wedding got together for a dress trying on session. With choosing our own dresses, it was important to make sure we all look good together. We did surprisingly well and I think we are going to look great in August! We also had time for some champagne, snacks and catching up. Which is all I’ve wanted to do with these girls for months! Afterwards, we chilled out on the Smith Common’s roof top until Anthony and I met up with his family in Annapolis for dinner at an Italian restaurant. We decided it was important to carbo load before the final soccer match, penne alla vodka…my favorite!

Sunday, the championship game was at 10:20am. Long story short, we lost. But I’m proud we made it that far, and love each and every member of the team! While I will be playing in the smaller summer league, I will miss seeing the whole Cats team each weekend. We have come a long way in a few short years. Sunday was also Father’s Day and Anthony’s sister and nephews last day in town. We spent the evening eating a delicious steak dinner, and a Smith Island cake sent by my aunt as an early birthday present (and as a taster to a possible wedding cake!)

This week cannot go by fast enough. I am taking Friday off for my birthday to head down to Solomon’s Island for a seafood lunch before Stu and Leslie’s wedding weekend begins! Friday is the rehearsal and dinner. After that, I have hijacked the night for my birthday. Friends are coming down early to help me celebrate getting one year older at the infamous TIki Bar!! Is it Friday yet?!

Celebrating Early!

Celebrating Early!

Leave a Reply

