RSS Feed

A Week in Review – Museum Edition

Posted on

Tomorrow I will have gone to at least one museum for eight days in a row. EIGHT DAYS. Needless to say, it was a really good week.

Monday – I had my internship at the National Museum of American History. Where I ended the day taking in the views from the roof in the beautiful weather.

Tuesday – My Museum Education went to the National Museum of Women in the Arts. It was my first time at the museum, and it lived up to the hype. It is a gorgeous building. We sat with the Director of Education and heard all about their partnerships with school, education in the museum with all their visitors, and her opinion on VTS, and even went into the gallery to do our own VTS! Afterwards I looked into the Women who Rock exhibit to see Lady Gaga’s meat dress. To preserve it they basically made it into beef jerky, and boy is she tiny.

Wednesday – My Museum Foundations course went to the National Gallery of Art to meet with the Head of the Education Department. She was incredible. So thoughtful and really cared about all of our aspirations. We learned about everything the NGA is doing in education including their new Drawing Salon – that I almost went to last week. I plan on going to the next one! While I am a horrible artist, it would be cool to participate in something different inside of a museum.

Thursday – My Museum Practice course finished up our unit on Conservation at the National Museum of the American Indian Cultural Resources Center. We walked through where the collections are stored, which is pretty impressive. Everything has it’s own case and is packaged just so. This is to make it so everything is touched and moved as little as possible. I saw masks, bowls, moccasins, canoes, clothing. Pretty incredible. We also saw the conservation labs, and spoke to a lot of staff. It was quite a unique experience!

Friday – Back at the internship. I went to a lecture by James L Swanson, the writer of Manhunt who just came out with a book called Bloody Crimes: The C hase for Jefferson Davis and the Death Pageant for Lincoln’s Corpse. This book has climbed to the top of my reading list. At night I went to the Asia after Dark event at the Sackler Gallery. It was a lot of fun, and my first time to the gallery!. We drank cocktails from Ping Pong Dim Sum, there was a DJ, photo booth, drum making, then learning how to play these drums, a few tours and access to the galleries. I went with Anthony and also Kate and Elizabeth from school. I’d definitely go to another one of their events. And yes, those are drums.

Saturday – For Smithsonian’s National Museum Day which made many museums free! I went with Elizabeth (the other one, in our class of 15 we have two Elizabeth’s and two Anna’s!) to the Kreeger Museum. It was my first time, and it was really an impressive collection. Beautiful Monets and Picassos and a whole outdoor sculpture garden. It is interesting comparing what happens in a small gallery to the National Gallery. The coolest part was the temporary exhibit in the basement level called Museum Underground. One room was a huge inflatable ….room, for lack of a better word. It was a giant plastic bag basically that you could walk around in side and was inflated with a fan and covered inside in colored plastic. It was really awesome! And the best part was afterwards we ate lunch at Jetties, a sandwich place I’ve been wanting to try!

Sunday – I had my morning at the NMAH, back to passing out maps and answering questions…but with a whole new perspective. And afterwards met up with my group project at the National Gallery of Art. We spent over an hour walking through the galleries for our project. It’s been awhile since I’ve been in the gallery. After reading about how the gallery came about it is hard not to see how they were trying to be like all the European stately collections. It was cool to see some of the art I studied in Florence!

Tomorrow I’m back at the NMAH for another day of internship! I can’t wait.  Onto Week 5 of school. And it will be another busy one. On top of everything this week I’ll be at one of the Nat’s last regular season games, Mount Vernon Wine Festival and the Virgin Mobile Free Fest!

Leave a Reply

