RSS Feed

Day Twelve: Favorite movie based on a book/comic/etc

Posted on

While I watch a lot of movies, and read a lot of books I had to think about this post for awhile. Dre did the best post on Stand By Me, which has been my favorite movie forever (I’m a big fan of River Pheonix). While my next choice would be Devil Wears Prada.. I decided to take this a different direction!

Bridge to Terabithia

This is a childrens book written by Katherine Patterson (who happens to be my aunt Meredith’s brother-in-laws mother, when we were kids she use to send us signed copies of her books!). The book was written in 1977 and won the Newbery Medal in 1978. What I find most interesting is that according to wikipedia “The novel’s content has been the frequent target of censors and appears at number eight on the American Library Association list of the 100 Most Frequently Challenged Books for the decade 1990–2000”.

The movie was made by Disney in 2007. I watched it for the first time alone, on a rainy night in SF. By the big climax of the story I was bawling my eyes out and after the movie had to go into my room to finish off the tears. I don’t want to give anything away so you’ll have to watch/read for yourself! I have to say the actress that plays Leslie is super cute and talented, AnnaSophia Robb, and Zooey Deschanel is in it….you know it has to be good.

“Just close your eyes, but keep your mind wide open.”

Leave a Reply

