RSS Feed

Fan Boys

Posted on

Last night I volunteer for the Gen Art film screening of Fan Boys. To steal the short plot synopsis from imdb, Fan Boys is….. “Star Wars” fans travel to Skywalker Ranch to steal an early copy of “Episode I: The Phantom Menace”. There were a ridiculous amount of cameos in it (William Shatner, Carrie Fisher, Kevin Smith, Will Forte, Roy and Darrell from The Office, Kevin Smith), plus Jamie King (who happens to be married to the director), Kristen Bell, and a group of those boys that play dorks in every movie, including Seth Rogan and Jay Baruchel (aka the guy from all those Jud Apatow movies…with the Canada leaf tattoo) and my favorite nerd (from Joan of Arcadia, Ryan Reynolds brother from Just Friends, and not so nerdy in Alpha Dog) Chris Marquette. The movie was cute, short..only an hour and a half long. The movie of course was more than just a road trip to lucas-land, all the characters had their own personal struggles to overcome. There were laughable moments throughout, but my least favorite part was honestly Seth Rogan. I did not find him funny at all, its the first time where he sort of annoyed me. He played a dorky Treky with bad teeth as well as a few other characters throughout the movie. Afterwards, there was a Q&A session with the director and a few of the cast. I was happy my favorite nerd was there, and Jamie King, who I wish would still go by James King. I wasn’t surprised that I was taller than the nerd and shorter than Jamie (she had heels no fair) and Hollywood thin. All in all I’m glad I decided to volunteer and do something different!

fanboys_image__1_

Leave a Reply

